History of Education management and policy


                The preparation of this Departmental brochure was borne out of the need to assist students, staff and the general public in their registration, teaching and understanding of the courses available in the Department. More often than not students in the Department do not know the courses that are available and their credit loads in their options. The Department, therefore, deemed, it necessary to produce this brochure which contains the course, their loads as well as lecturers that are in-charge of such courses. It is our hope that students, staff and the general public will find the brochure useful and helpful.

The Department of Educational Management is made up of thirteen options namely:

  • Accountancy
  • Business Administration
  • Computer Science
  • Cooperative Economics and Management
  • Economics
  • English Language
  • Geography
  • Health Education
  • Political Science
  • Igbo
  • History
  • Religious Knowledge
  • Music

Students in the Department are encouraged to choose any of the above options. The Department provides a four year and three year direct entry programmes leading to the award of Bachelors Degree in Education (B. Ed) in the appropriate option and pre-Degree programme. It also offers PGDEM, Masters’ and Doctorate degree programme in various options.



The faculty of Education was established by the Senate resolution of 1985 and council directive of 1997 with following departments:

(1)     Business Education

(2) Science Education

(3) Technical Education and Health Science and Technology

(4) Foundations of Education


Following the visitor’s directive of 1987, the faculty was rationalized in three departments as follows:-

(A)    Educational Foundations with the following units:-

(i)  Educational Administration and Supervision

(ii) Guidance and Counseling

(iii) Library Science

(iv) Service unit

(B)     Business Education

(C)     Health and physical Education


On August, 9th 2006, Educational Foundations was split into departments as namely:

  1. Educational Management and Policy/Formerly Educational Administration and supervision.
  2. Guidance and Counseling
  3. Educational Foundations


During the 2005 NUC accreditation exercise, the accreditation team recommended a change of name from Educational Administration/Supervision to Educational Management as obtains in many other universities. This was presented and approved by the senate on 9th August, 2006, after been modified by the senate to read; Educational Management and Policy. Educational Management and Policy now has 13 programmes namely: Economics, Geography, Health Education, Political Science, Accountancy, English Language, Computer Science, Business Administration, Co-operative Economics, Music, History, Religion, Igbo.